Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Total Newb looking for advice with EA71 and EA81 engines...

First, I'll introduce myself as this is my first post on these forums. I'm from West Texas and a total gearhead. I'm not really a Subie guy by nature...but I have a couple engines that I will be building up for experimental aircraft use. I'm pretty new with these engines, so take it easy with me if I use wrong terminology or state the obvious please!

Currently I am mounting an EA71 to a V-max experimental. It has a single carb and 1 intake port per head. So here's the questions:

1) The intake manifold doesn't appear to be a great design for power, what is the best intake...or intake design...for max power between 2400-3400 rpm?

2) Does anyone have any real world experience regarding head work results on this engine?

3) Who makes cams for these engines, and what would be the best grind for 2400-3400 rpm?

4) Are the pistons forged or cast?

5) What is the highest (up to 10:1) compression that these engines will safely and reliably run with, and who makes the pistons to bump the compression? Or...do you just mill the heads?

6) Are they any tips you guys can give me to help me get the most out of this engine reliably?

7) All the above questions for an EA81 (for a future engine swap).

If I left any important details out, please let me know and I'll provide as much info as I can! Also, I do have both an EA71 and EA81 currently, so I'm ready to start experimenting.

Thanks,

Zach

don't expect any REAL power at those RPM ranges, you're basically lugging them!

ea71 cruises @ 3,600 smooth @4k worthless beyond 5k

EA71.jpg

http://jsae.jp/autotech/data_e/9-6e.html

ea81 cruises @ 3,000 not sure where it's smooth @ worthless beyond 6k, produces good power around 3,400

EA81.jpg

ea81 performance is with ea82 intake and carb, runs good on e85 or e10, 21 mpg

http://subaruavia.narod.ru/engine_diagram.html

RAM engines will be happy to collect your $$$ :grin: