Ultimate Subaru Message Board

How to use sealant properly?

Please help!!! I recently replaced the timing belt, head gaskets, valve cover seals, crank seal, & cam seals, on my 97 EJ25. I got it all back together and noticed a pretty good oil leak coming from the valve covers. So....I took it all back apart again and found that the sealant I used (permatex anaerobic gasket maker) had completely vanished from the camshaft end caps. In it's place was the smoking gun - a film of oil between machined surfaces of the head and cap.

Obviously I'm not very experienced at using sealants! What did I do wrong? I cleaned the surfaces well and used a small amount spreading it evenly over the surfaces. I found some posts saying to use ultra-grey. Does this stuff require removing all traces of oil before applying? If so, how do you lube the cams and install them without getting lube/oil in the sealant?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

You have to remove all traces of oil and grease for any sealer to work. The end caps should not need any sealer because they're silicone/rubber. (something like that) You don't put sealer on rubber gasket/seal material because its supposed to seal itself. Use sealers for metal to metal only.

Clean all of the sealer off, and put the end caps back in.

the end cap is metal! I'm talking about the last bearing cap in front on the end of the camshaft.

Mah bad. I was thinking the rear seals on the 2.2.

Use a very thin film of assembly lube on the bearing surface and wipe the sealing surfaces with alcohol or brake cleaner before applying the sealant.

Yeah that makes sense. I used gasket remover to clean the surfaces and I think that may have left a residue. I'll be sure to follow up with brake cleaner this time. Gasket remover works wonders to clean carbon deposits off the heads by the way. Thanks for all the help.