Ultimate Subaru Message Board

blown head gasket or cyl liner/engine block separation?

Guest theotherskip

this was buried in the other thread i have about a possible blown head gasket...

i went to the dealer the other day (in SE PA) and asked for a head gasket replacement estimate and he asked what symptoms i was having. i told him about the overheat & bubbles in the expansion tank. he said that it was probably not the head gasket, but more likely the "cylinder liner separating from the engine block." he said that they have not had any problems with the head gasket on this car (97 2.5l), but have had a lot of problems with the BLOCK?!? i asked if there was any way to check this, and he said that you have to remove the heads and check the block. i asked if he felt that this was a normal problem, for the block to go bad at 72k miles, and he just seemed to shrug it off. he gave me on of those "i've been working for subaru for 15 years..." blah blah blah. he said that that this particular engine (2.5l phase 1) doesn't have head gasket problems, rather this cylinder liner problem. i asked if he was sure, with everything about having bad head gaskets, not to mention the 6 revisions of the head gasket by subaru, and he stuck to his story...

feeling that he was full of @#$%, i walked out with the estimate... has anyone ever heard of this? i searched the web for this, and only found one person talking about it, www.imprezawrx.org/STi_Ml...est252.txt (link not currently working), but found a ton of articles about the head gasket problems. i figured he was just giving me crap after saying that there were no head gasket problems on this car, especially after reading everything on this board.

any thoughts?

Guest Commuter

I think my reaction would be very much like yours.