Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Grottos 1st Subaru: 92 Loyale 4WD Wagon

Hi all, I’m new to USMB and thought I’d post up a couple pictures and start a thread about this 92 Loyale I picked up a few weeks ago.

The car is nothing special, basically just a beater, but it’s my first Subaru. I know that EA82 cars are considered by many to be the low point in Subaru engineering, but I was more interested in just getting a decent test mule that I could do some wrenching on and learn a bit about these cars. I hope to have it sorted out enough for my daughter to drive this summer while home from school. After that, who knows? If it performs well and grows on me I may keep it, but then, I’m already eyeballing the early 80’s wagons and early Impreza wagons too.

Here she is:

P1012308.jpg

P1012311.jpg

P1012315.jpg

P1012313.jpg

It's a selectable 4WD, 5-speed car with 185K miles. As you can see it has a nice straight rust free body (except the hood has few wrinkles in it), the engine runs nice, quiet and smooth with no smoke or engine noises, the drive train feels nice and tight, the car tracks straight, the suspension feels good and the struts look good too, no exhaust leaks, CV axles all look good, newer tires. According to the seller the head gasket was replaced a couple years ago, couldn’t tell me if both were done but the coolant is nice and clean as well as the engine oil. It has new front brake pads and rotors, you can see that the right front CV axle is newer and it has a new O2 sensor, so there is at least evidence that some level of maintenance was performed. Picked it up locally for $1200, which I thought was a fair price.