Ultimate Subaru Message Board

What's the difference?

Ok, Bare with me on this question I'm new to the whole Subaru scene but whats a Ea82, Ea82T, Ej22, Ea81, and etc.? I was just wondering since I'm gonna become a Subaru owner with in the next week (crosses fingers).

Thanks guys/gals

LeDevil or James

Those are different designations for the motor that is in the car. EA81 is a 1800cc engine that used an under head cam with lifters. The EA82T is the same engine with a Turbo. The EA82 is an 1800cc engine with an overhead cam set-up and timing belts. The EA82T is a turbo version of the same engine. EJ22 is a newer engine with a displacement of 2200cc.

Many people on the board have strong feelings about which engine the prefer but from what I have seen they all work pretty well. The larger/newer ones with fuel injection definetly have more power than the older ones, but the older ones can be had for much less money.

Mike

The codes you are reffering to are the model numbers of engines. Since many parts are common between different models when it comes to Subaru it is just as easy to refer to a group of models in a generation of vehicles by that generations engine model.

For example, the EA81 is a 1.8ltr OHV pushrod engine and came in vehicles such as the BRAT, wagon, hatch etc. in the same time frame. These vehicles all shared transmission, engine, suspension etc. to a great degree. The EA81 is a fantasticly reliable engine and is used allot in the kit aviation community at double the stock output with complete confidence.

The next generation of vehicles was the EA82 series. The RX, XT, Loyale etc. fall into this group. They are slightly larger and have more features. Again, they share many common parts. The EA82 engine itself has some reliability problems compared to the EA81 but is still a good engine.