Ultimate Subaru Message Board

xt vs. celica

tysn

Hi, my name is tyson and i have a problem. i have a 1985 subaru xt turbo fwd and this car has been in the family for about 6 years. love the car to death. my sister has just bought a 85 celica and my dad says it gets up a little faster that the xt. lol what do i need to do to change this? keep in mind i am a poor college student. i am having problems gettign on xt6.net so i thought i would come here.

major service maintenance on the providers end at xt6.net, they will be down for approx 24 hours from the time they started...but i don't know when that is except to say it was before 9pm thursday night sometime. there are a few XT turbo owners there, so you should have some good info. some are members here too and it's the same EA82T motor that is in all the other late 80's subaru's so lots of people here will have input. search or look for posts regarding the EA82T, that's your motor. subaru offered that in other models, but the motor is the same as far as youre concerned .

it's always a good idea to make sure the car is running as close to 100 percent as possible. ignition is huge - plugs, wires, cap, rotor and coil. have you replaced any of that recently? i'd recommend doing it all at the same time. better performance, gas mileage and peace of mind in my position. but i was in college one time too......

you don't have heavy items in the car do you? extra weight will hinder you some. they don't make spares the size of pie pans for no reason.

i believe you can increase the boost very easily....read *cheap*. but i've never done it so i'm not sure how to do that....i recall something about installing a long hose to some other line and the length of the hose will dictate boost...blah blah blah, but i've never sat in or worked on a turbo so i don't know specifics. i heard this from john in ky and he definitely knows his turbo subarus so it can be done even if what i said makes ZERO sense.