Ultimate Subaru Message Board

location of coolant thermosensor

will it have one wire or two wires coming off of it. i have found a sensor with one wire on it. is that it. i'm new with the subarus so please bear with me. thanks alot

It will have one wire, so looks like you are on the right track.

It could have one or two wires depending on carb type - it will be to the left of the EGR valve, and screws directly into the water passage of the manifold. IIRC it's a 19mm. The EGR pipe from the passenger head has a heat sheild held on by a single 10mm bolt. The temp sender is not accesible with a socket unless this sheild is removed first.

thanks for the help. i will try to find it tommorrow. i will post how it went.

It could have one or two wires depending on carb type - it will be to the left of the EGR valve, and screws directly into the water passage of the manifold. IIRC it's a 19mm. The EGR pipe from the passenger head has a heat sheild held on by a single 10mm bolt. The temp sender is not accesible with a socket unless this sheild is removed first.