Ultimate Subaru Message Board

If you own a standard and want to coast down a hill, what is the best method to do this? I know, seems like a silly question but recently the clutch went on my dad’s truck. While chatting with him about it he said that when coasting down a hill you should depress the clutch, take the vehicle out of gear and then let the clutch back out and coast. His thoughts were that just putting the clutch in alone and coasting will wear on some of the springs that help operate the clutch. Ok, I’m no mechanic, so does this sound right? What is the best method to coasting without wearing your clutch unnecessarily?? With gas prices the way they are anything to save a little is a help and with all the hills in my area coating is a great way to conserve some gas.

Urban Coyote

Yes, take the car out of gear and let the clutch out. Leaving it in does two things; it causes the throw-out bearing to spin continuously and also assists in wearing out the fingers on the pressure plate just a bit.

You could even tap the gas pedal and slide the shifter into neutral without the clutch. This takes just a bit of practice to learn how, but I do it all the time on my beemer.

You could even tap the gas pedal and slide the shifter into neutral without the clutch. This takes just a bit of practice to learn how, but I do it all the time on my beemer.

If you're really good at "Rev Matching" you can shift without using your clutch at all... but probalby is pretty bad on your tranny. Handy in a pinch when your clutch shatters though. I have actually had people tell me that with the style of clutch the older Subarus have that it is better to shift out of gear WITHOUT depressing the clutch pedal. I don't believe them though, so I still depress the clutch when shifting out of gear.