Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Engine swap EJ25 to EJ22

doktorbill

Thinking of swapping engines in my 98 Forester-- has a EJ25 with medium piston slap when cold, and a 5 speed trans. Have a good EJ22 in a 94 Legacy with bad auto trans. From the many posts here, looks like the EJ22 engine will bolt up once I swap over the flywheel and pilot bearing, but what about the exhaust? I can handle the intake plumbing, but I am concerned if the SOHC and DOHC heads have the same exhaust pipe bolted to them? Or am I setting myself up for some custom exhaust work? Thanks in advance for your help-- I am still a newbie on Subarus.

I just did an ej22>ej25 swap in my '98 Outback (thanks to the help and advice from various folks on this board!) The exhaust _should_ bolt up OK, as the '95 and earlier Legacy have dual port exhausts (two ports on each head.) The '94 Legacy engine does _not_ have an EGR port, so you will not be able to use your 2.5 EGR valve and will get a check engine light- something to bear in mind if you live in an area where they scan your car for codes during emission inspection. The best donor engine for this swap is a '95 legacy automatic- it has an EGR port and the dual exhaust port heads. The wiring harness for the '94 Legacy is incompatible with the later cars, and the 2.5 intake manifold will NOT bolt up to the 2.2. Seems like you're doing things the hard way! You might be able to use the intake manifold, engine wiring harness, sensors, throttle body, coil pack from a '95 2.2 legacy, and bolt that up to your '94 block. You'd still have the EGR issue. I can't guarantee that any of my advice will work, as I have never tried this -w- a '94 legacy block.

good luck,

Nathan