Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Weber Installation - Choke, PS problem

I'm at my bosses, the computer and connection are so slow my searches are timing out, so I am making a new thread.

VIVA LA ANNOYING WEBER THREADS!!!!

So, the power steering chicken is in the way of my choke nugget. I really don't want to flip the whole carb and run the throttle cable around the world....

Is a manual choke that bad? Do I have any other options?

Oh I don't really need a kit to do the manual conversion. I can piece all that together.

I just don't want to have to do it if there is another way. But it looks like that is going to be the way to go, I don't really want to do the 180 spin thing. :(

I have a 180 degree turned carb....

I put the throttle mount in some other holes in the intake manifold... I actually had to shorten the cable as it comes up from the bottom of the carb, then loops around the throttleplate thing along the front up to the top. I used one of the plates where you can just pass a cable through and tighten a screw down on the cable to keep it in there. I tried keeping the cable long but it wouldnt work, it had to be bent too much and it bound up.

Sorry I dont have any pics of it :(

Mine is 180*. I did not shorten my cable, and that has not been a problem.

I picked up a choke kit at napa- the "nugget" in the kit as a cover did not fit well, went the turned route.

Noah88DL installed his w/ choke, head on- he just beat the PS rez till there was room. If that was me, I woulda caused more problems for myself and still had to turn the carb- but it has been done. Any leaks Noah???

From what I understand, installing a Weber either way we are forced to in our cars isn't ideal, and can lead to hang up of the float on hard turns, hills. I have suffered fuel starvation in moments like that. I've read the float pin/hinge should sit parallel to the firewall, and in the most forward position if possible.