Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello again,

I'm a new Subaru owner and I noticed in the owner's manual to the 2003 Forester that Subaru recommends I replace all four tires at the same time. What's wrong with replacing two at a time instead of all four? Replacing all four gets expensive. By the way, how often should I rotate the tires, align the wheels, and how long should the standard tires on the 03 Forester last? In case you haven't noticed, I'm a rookie at automotive issues.

Due to the All Wheel Drive system the circumfrence of the tires must be within 1/4", this works out to be about 1mm of thread depth. If they vary by more than that, you can end up cooking the center diff.

This is the reason for the FWD (Front Wheel Drive) fuse located in the engine compartment. If you need to run with different size wheels, for example, using the spare. You need to install the fuse to prevent damage to the tranny.

Do you have only two tires that are worn? I have noticed that the tires on my Legacy wear more evenly than any FWD or RWD car I've ever had. Even with my heavy foot, my tires have always been ready for swapping at the same time.

I have an automatic 03 Forester with 6000 miles on it, and I've noticed that it drifts slightly to the right on a straight and level road. I guess it needs a wheel alignment, but can tires that are slightly off really throw an entire transmission out of whack? The system seems really sensitive to me, although this is the first AWD car I have ever owned.

Does the tire tread thing apply to manual transmission cars as well?

I have a 96 Lx AWD 5MT, the rear tires, although the same brand and model of tire are worn a lot more than the fronts, looks as though they were replaced/ fronts moved to the rear, and fronts replaced with new tires.

The wear would easily be more than 1mm worth of tread depth difference, will this affect my car? looks like its been this way for a while now. dont want to kill the thing, or do any more damage.