Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Driveline/vibrations 86 GL

'86 GL 4x4 Sedan automatic-

Maybe it's a newbie question, and I don't care, I'm a newbie at 50 to Subies and in one short year now own 4 I like them so much.

Situation: Huge vibration through out vehicle at 25 mph and above.

Question: Can I remove the driveshaft and 'take it out of the system' and still drive the car? It's probably a piss poor way to trouble shoot the u-joints in the driveshaft, but....

I do not know how to troubleshoot the cv joints on the rear axles either. There is no clicking or anything and they seem 'tight' to the touch/shake/pushing up & down. Is the solution 'throw dollars at new parts' and see what happens? LOL, it's been done before.

Thanks. Doug, 50 year old newbie

Can I remove the driveshaft and 'take it out of the system' and still drive the car? It's probably a piss poor way to trouble shoot the u-joints in the driveshaft, but....

You can remove the rear section but not the front. The front section holds all the tranny fluid in. But if you get all 4 wheels up in the air you should be able to detect any play in the joints. They are, unfortunately, staked in place and according to official documentation "not repairable", however they can be removed (with some effort) if you are careful and there are joints (for a toyota I beleive) that can be fitted. It's generally better to find a good used one unless you think you'll need to do it again in the life of the vehicle.

I do not know how to troubleshoot the cv joints on the rear axles either. There is no clicking or anything and they seem 'tight' to the touch/shake/pushing up & down. Is the solution 'throw dollars at new parts' and see what happens? LOL, it's been done before.

The "solution" is the same as for the driveline - remove each one and see if it makes a difference. I'll tell you right now your rear axles aren't the cause though - I have never seen one fail on a non-lifted Subaru of the 4WD vintage.