Ultimate Subaru Message Board

G'Day from Aussie... via California

Hi viewers,

I'm a newbie to this site...well, sort of... I've been registered for a little while, but haven't had much time to browse through it. I am a proud owner of a silver '97 Legacy RS (twin turbo) sedan. Purchased in Melbourne, Australia...imported via Japan.

I currently live in California, and have been trying in vain to find a similar vehicle whilst living over here, but unfortunately, not much luck in that area. Hope to meet some interesting people, gather some useful information and just have fun while here.

Dave

Youre in about the worst possible place to find a car comperable to a twin turbo. California is just about as locked down as it gets when it comes to smog and vehicle regulations.

Might be best to find yourself a really nice 80-89 Subaru Hatchback. One of the few cars they never imported to Australia. Build yourself an off road toy and bring it back to OZ.

G'Day all, and thanks for the warm and fuzzies.

Hey there Atomic. Well, the interceptor it still is, according to me. Even though Mad Max had quite a fine piece of machinery to drive around in, the modern day Falcons pack some heavy artillery in the performance department. I'm looking forward to reading up on some handy tips and info too.

Howdie Shawn. Darn...I thought you blokes had E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G over here...y'know?...whatever happened to the "everything is bigger and better" way of thinking in Cali? Well...I'll have a hunt around these boards for some info, but I'm thinking of a couple ideas about filling my twin-turbo legacy void...either...

1. Just get a plain old 90ish legacy, and an imported motor, and get to work on marrying the two...but I have a feeling this may get to be an expensive hobby...

2. Find out if anyone imports these beasts here in California.

3. Buy a Rex...but these are just too small for me. Let me know if there's any good threads about the first two.