Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I have a feeling that this has been addressed before, but I'll have to plead ignorance being a newbie here.

So, I am the newest owner of a '99 Outback Limited with a 2.5 and only 63,000 on the clock (verified by the records). I have heard about potential head gasket issues with this particular motor. I assume that this is an issue with a percentage of the produced engines and at some mileage on them.

I'd appreciate some insight into what I've heard bits of and want to know if I made a mistake buying this car. We've owned several Subarus in the past and had little reason not to look at this purchase until I heard about the potential issue with the engines. I cannot afford to replace the engine a short time from now. I bought this because of a bad engine (235,000) in a Jeep I drove until now.

read this and then use the search function to find more posts.

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=104353&highlight=head+gasket*

i've been driving a 97 outback wagon for over 33k miles, now at 131K, with no problems. i know it could go bad at any time but so far so good.

how much did you pay for your car.?

Edited by johnceggleston

$4200 off of a friend's lot (he has a garage also and that's how we became friends). I ran the numbers and retail came in much higher. I know what he obtained it for and he got it for an equally reasonable price. The interior is pristine, no rust or significant body/glass damage, and everything works including the heated seats and mirrors. Tires have over 3/4 tread, state inspection is new.

Edited by Allpar Mod

$4200 off of a friend's lot (he has a garage also and that's how we became friends). The interior is pristine, no rust or significant body/glass damage, and everything works including the heated seats and mirrors.