Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Auto Trans Removal, F'ing Flex Plate Bolts**** Resolved***

2000 Forester

So of course, the last bolt I need to remove is rounded. I figure I have one shot to get it right with a good 6 point socket but accessibility is next to nothing.

So I'd like to hear from all you auto trans removers. This is my first time pulling an auto trans so I don't know any tricks.

What tool configuration do you typically use?

is there anyway to get on this thing good without pulling friggin intake?

Thanks!

Will-

Edited by lostinthe202

Heat the bolt head good and hot - can you get it red? At least heat it and let it cool even if it's just a propane torch. The expanding/contracting will help free it.

If you have to remove the intake to get a clean 90 degree shot at it then I'd do it.

Good luck will, these suck!

I generally use a Craftsman Pro 12/14mm offset box wrench to get at these without rounding them. IIRC, you can pull the P/S pump and alternator and wiggle a 6 point socket on a long extension in from the front. You may need a universal joint on the end, just to make sure you can get a 90* seat on the bolt head. You just need to break the thing loose, after that it comes out easy.

I found the perfect tool for the job. It was a insert that fit into a ratcheting wrench (12 or 13mm) and had a 3/8" drive on the other side. Attach a normal length 12mm socket and it fits in the access hole with intake fully assembled.

http://s.sears.com/is/image/Sears/00999648000-1?hei=600&wid=600&op_sharpen=1&qlt=90,0&resMode=sharp&op_usm=0.9,0.5,0,0

Made by gearwrench, called a wrench drive adapter. Bought the set of three for under 20 bucks i think.

Thanks for the tips, I'll look into them.

Gary,