Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1985 Subaru GL 4wd - newbie here in texas!!!

hey all! i'm new to this forum!

are any of you in austin, texas???

i just lucked into a free 1985 Subaru GL 4wd with 206,000 miles on her. she has NO rust and all her parts are there! The only thing is she hasn't been driven in a long time; her inspection sticker is from 06...

i got this car because a friend of my brothers stored it here and i think he drove it here - but it has been sitting for years; and my brother tried to sell her for cheap but no one was interested!!!

the more i looked at her i started dreaming of this car at night!!! i had a subaru 77-78GF back in the day and still missed him (he was a boy LOL) and now i told this car i would get her running again!!!

my bf at first didn't want anything to do with this car. now he is getting into it a little and we tried to start her today - and she almost started with a new battery and then he was messing with the carburetor and it started on fire!!! this was right after he told me that the fuel pump wasn't working and there was NO gas coming into the carb... then he said that the fuel pump evidently is working ;)

well, i am going to get a carb re-build kit - because there is a lot of varnish in there... and of course drain the old gas out... and change the oil... and then see how she drives!!!

any tips on things i should do after she has sat for so long???

someone really took care of this car up until the time she died of something... and/or they just got fed up with storing her...

djh

Edited by ratgirldjh

Welcome to the club. You will find tons of help here.... not from me of course. Even I don't listen to a word I say, regardless of whether it's good advise or not. I've not done a restore of a car in storage, but others here will help you with good advise.