Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Ford fuel pump???

Iv been reading a lot about the ford fuel pump that works on a subie. i have an 1988 ea82 spfi 3-door(2dr-hatch) and the pump started leaking once i filled with it up with gas after runnin it bone dry. Will the pump leak if its been ran out of gas a bunch? But will the ford pump work on my SPFI motor? If so please put in your 2 cents about the situation. Different car fuel pumps that will work, parts numbers and prices please i'm real tight on cash flow and need the cheapest one i can get.(cheapest in money not in quality)

I would try the search function... I have no experience with this issue, but the search button probably does :rolleyes:

uhh where do you think i read about it:rolleyes:

Theres mixed views about the ford pumps thats why im trying to found out the most i can and rather than sit on the compter for hours digging threw the archives of USMB.:slobber: Why wouldnt i make it work for me?:headbang:

Well, my advice would be sitting in front of the computer for hours and start digging through the archives :) Seriously though, I have and do that on a regular basis. More info and background info would also help others in trying to determine your problem, and should have been included in your first post and would have prevent the search function comment :rolleyes:

I am not trying to be rude or mean, but I always research the hell out of my problem, think about it for a while, write it down and include all the background research I have done and all the info gleaned from such research, re-read it, post, and the start researching some more. If all elses fails or I don't get answers fast enough, I go to the JY, grab my parts, try it and when it fails, add that to the post and keep on trying. Again, not trying to be too mean here, that just my process, and it seems to work well for me :)