Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

RX update with pictures... (56K get off my internet)


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 12:45 AM

Here's some pictures... I'll answer questions as they arise... these are each atleast a thousand words a piece :-p

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


Discuss :-D

#2 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 12:46 AM

Some more because it didn't like all of them at once:

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

:)

#3 Flowmastered87GL

Flowmastered87GL

    WCSS Drunk

  • Members
  • 6,125 posts
  • Portland, Oregon

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:05 AM

Well that box of cams explains why it appeared there was no cams in the cam housings :rolleyes:

So when are you gonna dyno it? :D

#4 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:09 AM

After it runs :-p

#5 carfreak85

carfreak85

    EA81T Sherpa

  • Members
  • 4,758 posts
  • Bell-something...

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:10 AM

I was just thinking, to avoid the intercooler to turbo hose from contacting the engine stuff, why not just align the turbo differently? Just a thought, however a custom hose may be necessary...

#6 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:14 AM

Housing can't be rotated on the turbo because of the wastegate. Its not a custom hose... its a stock WRX aftermarket piece. I got that for $45 shipped.

#7 carfreak85

carfreak85

    EA81T Sherpa

  • Members
  • 4,758 posts
  • Bell-something...

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:19 AM

I meant if the turbo could be rotated, then a custom hose might be needed. what exactly about the wastegate makes the turbo not able to be rotated?

#8 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:23 AM

The intake housing would have to be rotated, not the exhaust housing. The wastegate mounts to the intake housing, and there isn't any other places to bolt it to.

#9 carfreak85

carfreak85

    EA81T Sherpa

  • Members
  • 4,758 posts
  • Bell-something...

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:31 AM

I know the Intake housing would have to be rotated, but it would also make the setup mor reliable. I say rotate it and use a homemade custom mount for the wastegate.

#10 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:37 AM

how would it make it more reliable?

#11 WJM

WJM

    SUBARU

  • Members
  • 7,828 posts

Posted 09 February 2004 - 07:28 AM

Dang it tex, you beat me to it!

That reminds me, I need another set of Delta cams...

I cant wait to see how you get all that stuff plumbed in and see some dyno results!

#12 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 05:48 PM

I got the milder of the 2 cams Delta had... which did you get WJM?

Would have gone with the others, but Delta said some modification was required... and this being my first engine buildup i was leary of trying to take on too much. As is, i have my work cutout for me.

#13 scoobie steve

scoobie steve

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Bangor

Posted 09 February 2004 - 05:50 PM

Hey Tex did you mock up a wrx intercooler, i wanted to know if it will fit the samco hose and throttle body??? looks like you welded and adapter on your up-pipe?? Do you plan to run stock injectors? If i was you i would make a fuel rail for bosche style top feeds. You can find dsm ~400cc injectors cheap on ebay. What style MAF does your car have??

#14 carfreak85

carfreak85

    EA81T Sherpa

  • Members
  • 4,758 posts
  • Bell-something...

Posted 09 February 2004 - 05:57 PM

Buy not having the hose rubbing on that protrusion or touching a hot engine.

#15 WJM

WJM

    SUBARU

  • Members
  • 7,828 posts

Posted 09 February 2004 - 06:14 PM

i got the milder "torque" grind.

#16 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 07:01 PM

I currently run a WRX intercooler in the RX. It sits farther back away from the engine though. I'm going to try to hook it directly to the throttle body and the samco hose, however I have a feeling the throttle cable/bracket might be in the way.

If that is the case.. I will use a straight runner to set the intercooler back from the TB a bit (probally 2-3") and will cut the samco hose just after the 90 turn for the turbo to extend the y-pipe.

Yes, the stock wrx uppipe flange was cutoff, and welded directly ontop of the stock flange. This helped to simplify the process. I was worried about keeping the turbo level, and throwing off the downpipe geometry.

I will be running stock injectors. However I am making fuel rails for the engine. They will have a barb for the top feed hoses on the stock injectors. I've seen some other injectors of this same style. The whole reason to make the fuel rails was spurred on by getting an adjustable rising rate fuel pressure regulator. So hopefully with increased pressure I'll be able get more fuel into the engine.

My car has the hot wire MAF. For tuning I'm using an apexi SAFC to modify the MAF signal (as we have no MAP sensor). I will be putting in a HKS FCD to prevent the fuel cut inbetween the SAFC and the stock ECU.

#17 scoobie steve

scoobie steve

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Bangor

Posted 09 February 2004 - 07:34 PM

I havent seen the hot wire mafs for the ea82 but if its like the newer ones the "guts" can be removed and placed in a larger tube. This will allow you to run a larger injector and will raise the factory fuel cut. Have a pic?? Its probably very possible to run a newer legacy hot wire maf too with the SAFC.

#18 Marck

Marck

    Certified Subaru Nut

  • Members
  • 776 posts
  • Nipomo

Posted 09 February 2004 - 07:35 PM

Hey Subarutex,

What is the duration and lift of those delta cams? The specs that were posted on another thread on the meassage board said that they were .42 inch lift and 260 duration for the mild torque grind. But when I called delta cams a couple of days ago for some more info, they told me that they were .386 inch lift with 260 duration. They said that they don't make a cam with .42 inch lift for the EA82T. So if you can let me know what the lift is, that would help me settle this confusion. Thanks.

Curious...are you running Cu HG?

#19 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 07:56 PM

Good thought Steve... I'll have a look. From memory it seems to be one piece though... Legacy MAF could work i spose... I'm modifing the signal anyways right? Makes sense...

Marck... I believe they offer 2 grinds for the EA82T. a 386/260 and a 430/260... Mine are the milder ones, so the 386/260 I think. Same ones WJM has.

The 430/260's require modification to something (i imagine because the lift is larger...)

I have decided against the CU HG's at this time. There is no solid evidence that they are any better than stock for our engines. The only reason I would see using CU HG would be to go thicker to get a lower CR. But our CR is already in the basement at 7.7?:1. I will however looking into using copper gasket sealant with the stock gaskets.

#20 Forkspear

Forkspear

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 130 posts
  • Moriarty

Posted 09 February 2004 - 10:07 PM

Nice buildup. Almost exactly what I plan to do. I have the manifold, the turbo, and Im getting ready to buy cams. Still need an intercooler. I need to rebuild my bottom end first. It started knocking two weeks ago. I read on another board somewhere that you can clock the turbo and bolt on the wastegate acuator with one bolt. On my td04 I drilled the turbo to bolt onto the factory flange. Looks like it will work fine but I haven't tried it yet. Hope it turns out good.

#21 xforxlifex

xforxlifex

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 188 posts
  • ma

Posted 09 February 2004 - 10:15 PM

Tex,

Will the HKS FCD work for the ea82t? ive seen it around before.

#22 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 09 February 2004 - 10:25 PM

I don't see why the FCD wouldn't work. Its just a voltage clamp. The fuel cut is activated by the MAF signal being over a certain set voltage. If we can clamp the signal right before that voltage, we should never hit fuel cut.

The FCD is adjustable. So you just start with a really high voltage... and keep turning it lower and lower till the fuel cut goes away.

#23 xforxlifex

xforxlifex

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 188 posts
  • ma

Posted 09 February 2004 - 10:43 PM

Thats good. Let us know when you get that hooked up. if i recal there not to pricey either.

#24 Myxalplyx

Myxalplyx

    Old Wise and Dumb

  • Members
  • 1,834 posts
  • New Castle

Posted 24 February 2004 - 07:13 AM

Originally posted by Subarutex
My car has the hot wire MAF. For tuning I'm using an apexi SAFC to modify the MAF signal (as we have no MAP sensor). I will be putting in a HKS FCD to prevent the fuel cut inbetween the SAFC and the stock ECU.



Hey SubaruTex,

I've been following your project for a bit and I asked a question a while back but you may have forgotten to post about it or didnt' have time to look.

Do you know what your Sensor Calc and Sensor Number setting is on your SAFC for your setup? Thanks!

#25 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 24 February 2004 - 11:55 AM

I don't recall off the top of my head. After I get the battery back in the car I'll find out and let you know.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users