Ultimate Subaru Message Board

My GLadys adventures! (TONS of pics!)

-> Hi, I just bought an '89 GL Wagon w/ the bubble-top (aka. the Touring) wagon. I'm no stranger to Subaru's since I used to own a '04 and '06 WRX Wagons. But I'm a completely a newbie when it becomes to an Old-School Subies like the GL.

-> Is there any precausions that I must look out in regards to the car, drivetrain, and the highly talked about EA82 engine. I've heard a lot of scary stuff/stories regarding about this engine, and unfortunately I can't afford to do an engine swap (EJ--) for the wagon.

-> Here's a briefing about the car (from my threads at GTPlanet.net, TQPI.net, S2Ki.com, Flat4LV.com, & NASIOC.com:

GOOD

- True 4WD (has FWD, 4WD-Hi, & 4WD-Lo)

- Fuel Injected

- Rare bubble-top spec

- Engine runs good (has that distinctive Boxer rumble)

- No body damage (some trimmings are loose)

- Other than the dust-n-dirt the interior is flawless (except on the door panels)

- Only had two owners (10 years each)

- Used to owned by Joe Pesci (as the 1st owner)

- Clean title

- Owner states that car has no A/C, but I found out IT DID!!!

- 100% stock

BAD

- Car is located in Yucca, AZ by I-40 (2.5 hr drive from Vegas)

- A minor fuel rail leak

- 211K miles

- Paint and door panels are faded due to high temperature

- Uncertain if the car had a tuneup

- Current owner states that it needs a fuel pressure regulator, but the car ran normally when I test drove it

- Not much people know about the car

- Needs to be towed (distance, fuel leak)

- Since the car has sat on idle for a long time, the car rides a little rough at first

- Sometimes/rarely hesitates to go 2nd gear (been in idle for so long)

-> Here are some of the pics:

20441_1084657973502_1737980160_164997_8352169_n.jpg

20441_1084657933501_1737980160_164996_7868949_n.jpg

20441_1084658013503_1737980160_164998_7496860_n.jpg

20441_1084658053504_1737980160_164999_2070679_n.jpg

20441_1084658133506_1737980160_165001_4720331_n.jpg