Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Wide range of Prices for my Garage!

RallyKeith

It amazes me the vast differences in the prices I'm getting for the garage I'm trying to build. I've been "shopping around" for a few weeks now. Meeting with contractors, construction companies, and shed manufacturers. With very few variations in final product, I've got prices from about $14,000 to $34,000! That's quite a swing. I've even worked out that I can pay someone for the site and pad work, buy a garage "kit" and build it myself for about $12,000. Decisions Decisions

As a carpenter, I could suggest you try to find a local carpenter you trust to build it. The price game has some high stakes involved. Usually a bid is a guess on building costs plus 60% for profit and overruns. A pad can be had cheap with the specifications on your local building code. (Insulation, water table adjustments, footings ect.) Its like a grand a 10 yard concrete truck delivery here. Gravel and insulation a grand or two depending on the size of your garage pad. Your local union guys that are out of work love that kind of side work and are usually happy to give you a deal and the best work. I love watching union d-wallers and tapers. They have wings, ya know!

Building materials have dropped almost 50% but I'll bet your quotes havent noticed. Plumbing and electrical can be expensive and should be set up before you pour. Installation is your biggest problem labor wise. You get what you pay for and you pay double for "contractor services". I run a one man show myself an I have work coming out my ears because I have no overhead or employees and I don't bid. Just hourly and tool expense. For example, four walls and a papered roof should be up in a week max, by me and one buddy, weather withholding. Interior and siding is where you can spend money, you have to look at it ya know. Thats all I can give ya without a plan to look at.

Keep your money local, it will reinvest itself in your local neighborhood.