Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

My EJ22T swap.......and a few issues


  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#26 bheinen74

bheinen74

    Banned

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • central Iowa

Posted 13 April 2010 - 08:23 PM

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by bheinen74, 13 April 2010 - 08:26 PM.


#27 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 13 April 2010 - 08:57 PM

I appreciate your efforts to educate/help me, but I've done enough t-belts to know wtf I'm doing.
I would like to hear from the folks that have done EJ to EA engine swaps because there can be lots of issues with wiring and sensors. As far as I know, only one other person has done the EJ22T swap and its not running yet.
Telling me to check my timing is redundant.

#28 Caboobaroo

Caboobaroo

    USMB Drunk

  • Members
  • 6,905 posts
  • Oregon City

Posted 13 April 2010 - 09:50 PM

Not until I get it into the garage and get to going on it again:rolleyes:

#29 Qman

Qman

    Happiness is... no lag!!

  • Moderator
  • 11,119 posts
  • Sumner

Posted 13 April 2010 - 11:47 PM

Posted Image

Posted Image



Are you kidding me? That kind of post is not only redundant, it is actually insulting. And a turbo that will run without an O2 sensor... why would a turbo need input from an O2 sensor. And, why would you show a phase 2 EJ25 when discussing a phase 1 EJ22T? Nice...

Edited by Qman, 13 April 2010 - 11:51 PM.


#30 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,998 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 14 April 2010 - 12:13 AM

yea, 02 sensor would probably be a good idea....but I don't think it would cause the condition you have.

only 3 things, I can think of, would cause it to fall on it's face like that. faulty knock sensor, pulling timing. faulty pressure sensor, sensing over-boost and cutting fuel. or insufficient fuel delivery. we know your fuel pump is rated for a fraction of the flow required for the engine, so I would wait to bash your head against the wall until you've solved that.


you don't really need to hold out for the 255. unless you plan on some pretty serious mods. stock is 150 (which is about 40gph). here's one that would work very well with the stock motor for much less than the walbro: http://www.summitrac...arts/SUM-G3138/

#31 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 14 April 2010 - 12:46 AM

I picked up a used 02 sensor from Qman tonight, I'll try that tomorrow. Dont think its the knock sensor as the timing is right on and advances when you hit the throttle. Now the pressure sensor is another thing. I have the ECU wired to my EA82T sensors, so I dont know if they are even compatible. I have some feelers out at legacycentral for the pressure sensor, but I would think they would be universal(?)
Qman also suggested looking at other brand fuel pumps, dont know why I was stuck on Walbro (all nasioc's fauly :rolleyes: ).

#32 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 15 April 2010 - 04:51 PM

Ok, new 02 sensor is in and I got the pressure solenoid/valve in.

And it runs at boost now :banana:
The power is sooo much smoother than the EA82T was and when it hits boost, theres very little lag. I have it at 8lbs right now and it runs like the EA did at 12lbs.
To say the least, I'm stoked!

I do have a few bugs to work out, like it wants to idle at 1.5-2K right now.
And when it first starts up it knocks pretty good. It may just need to be run for a little bit. I did get a can of Seafoam to try, but if clears up I wont put it in.

Damn, I want to go back out and drive it some more :burnout:

#33 Qman

Qman

    Happiness is... no lag!!

  • Moderator
  • 11,119 posts
  • Sumner

Posted 15 April 2010 - 05:16 PM

Good for you. I'll see it soon.

#34 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,998 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 15 April 2010 - 07:07 PM

Sweet! not having an 02 sensor must have been throwing it into limp mode as soon as it was hitting boost.


which EA82t sensors are you using? I'm curious about that. very interesting that that worked.....

#35 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 15 April 2010 - 09:30 PM

Sweet! not having an 02 sensor must have been throwing it into limp mode as soon as it was hitting boost.


which EA82t sensors are you using? I'm curious about that. very interesting that that worked.....


Well according to a very smart mechanic I know, he said the 02 sensor does nothing under boost.
The sensor is actually the wastegate control valve, its the same part for the turbo Legacy and EA82T. Theres a pressure sensor thats needed and thats turbo Leg specific. Also, a solenoid valve and dropping resistor are needed.
Its all on a bracket, the same mounting area as the EA82T.
Seeing how I was using a MBC, I could do away with the WG valve.
I put 30mi on it this afternoon. It still has the high idle and I'm a little worried about the bottom end rattle when starting after its been sitting for a while.

#36 phantomcrooner

phantomcrooner

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • The mountains of Julian

Posted 20 April 2010 - 03:01 PM

I still have some minor issues with mine, stumbling upon takeoff, until about 3k then she comes alive. I discovered that the timing was off on the pass side by 3 cogs, dang i thought it had power before!, now idles quiet and smooth, stumbles on applying throttle until 3k then burning rubber, and seriously moving. I took off next to a Corvette today, and he couldn't get away from me, he quit trying at about 75mph! He gave me a serious look when we got to the next light, of course i was rumbling pretty good as i am running dual exhaust with twin cherry bombs that exit each side in front of the rear tires.
:Flame: :burnout:

#37 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 20 April 2010 - 03:59 PM

Is yours a N/A 2.2? You should be able to check the codes (if the light is hooked up, mine isnt yet).
And if you think your 2.2 is fast, you should sit shotgun in my 2.2T :eek:
I've given a few rides to some local friends and the look on their faces when it hits boost............... priceless :D

#38 phantomcrooner

phantomcrooner

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • The mountains of Julian

Posted 20 April 2010 - 04:46 PM

Hey,
I'll bet you are fast!
It is N/A with a turbo up fit already in progress. I gave my buddy that helped me put it in a ride for the first time today, he couldn't believe it was the same car. The only code it throws is an incorrect signal from temp sensor, and it only did that since i put a new sensor in. I'm a bit puzzled at the moment.

#39 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 20 April 2010 - 05:30 PM

Check the wire for corrosion, it will effect the values sent to the ecu.

#40 phantomcrooner

phantomcrooner

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • The mountains of Julian

Posted 21 April 2010 - 02:09 PM

well that's a heck of an idea, will do

#41 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 21 April 2010 - 04:29 PM

Well, it still has the high idle. I'm living with it right now, but I'll work on it this weekend when the weather dries out some. I suspect its the IAC and I have another one to go in.
The temp is no longer a issue, I have another fan installed in front of the rad and its running around 160-170 now.
Fuel supply is adequate at the moment. I hit fuel cut at 6.5k, thats more than I need to be going anyway :rolleyes:
I'm just having to much fun, I'm burning thru gas like crazy :-\
Considering the price of premium is over $3gal now, I'm going thru $10 a day.
Thats about 50mi a day.........and I'm really not going any where :-\
But I'm having fun doing it :D

#42 WoodsWagon

WoodsWagon

    Formerly 91Loyale

  • Members
  • 3,948 posts
  • NH

Posted 21 April 2010 - 09:09 PM

The rattle at startup may be a bad oil filter. If the anti-drainback valve in the filter isn't sealing, the oil in the oil gallerys will drain back to the sump, so the oil pump has to re-prime and pump oil to fill all the gallerys in the block and head before it starts to build pressure. Not good, esp on a turbo car where the turbo depends on being floated on a film of high pressure oil.

#43 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,998 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 21 April 2010 - 10:52 PM

Well, it still has the high idle. I'm living with it right now, but I'll work on it this weekend when the weather dries out some. I suspect its the IAC and I have another one to go in.
The temp is no longer a issue, I have another fan installed in front of the rad and its running around 160-170 now.
Fuel supply is adequate at the moment. I hit fuel cut at 6.5k, thats more than I need to be going anyway :rolleyes:
I'm just having to much fun, I'm burning thru gas like crazy :-\
Considering the price of premium is over $3gal now, I'm going thru $10 a day.
Thats about 50mi a day.........and I'm really not going any where :-\
But I'm having fun doing it :D


awesome! redline is 6500, so that fuel cut probably isn't even the pump.....Cool! on paper the EA82t pump would not be enough, glad to hear that's not the case in the reality. although I might look into a fuel pressure gauge to keep an eye on it. wouldn't want it to be running lean :eek:

#44 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,539 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 22 April 2010 - 12:44 AM

So... when you wanna race?

I think we all need to try and hit up a track day. See who's EJ swapped EA is fastest.

#45 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 22 April 2010 - 01:02 AM

I was wishing I could have made it last weekend for the test and tune meet at PR, but I'm still working on it and to be honest, broke.
When the next one comes up, lets try and make it out.

#46 Caboobaroo

Caboobaroo

    USMB Drunk

  • Members
  • 6,905 posts
  • Oregon City

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:50 PM

And maybe mine will be done before then. I'm working my tail off on it so I can have it for the show:)

#47 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 08 June 2010 - 02:39 PM

Ok, had to pull the engine due to rough running and leaking oil out the HG's.
This is what I found on the passenger head camshaft.

Posted Image

I put a new t-belt on it before the install and didnt notice anything wrong with it. But at least I have another head to replace it :rolleyes:

#48 bheinen74

bheinen74

    Banned

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • central Iowa

Posted 08 June 2010 - 02:44 PM

^
that pic, sure would cause the timing issue you were having. thats sucks to have a chunk out the cam, wonder how that occurred...
was i right in it was timing? well, you had it set right i know, but your running issue sounded dead on.
repair and be careful with the boost knob.

#49 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,139 posts
  • WA

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:23 PM

It did cause a timing issue, but it happened after I fixed a lot of other stuff and had it running good. I'm not sure how it happened, but I was on a 50mi run to a breakfast and wasnt being hard on it. It overheated right when I pulled into the parking lot and I filled it with a gal of water before hitting the road again.
It was running rough at idle, but fine when the boost kicked in. It got progressively worse and I parked it. That was almost a month ago. When I installed the new t-belt I didnt notice if the pulley was loose, I didnt remove it either.
I'm waiting on HG/intake gaskets right now, but in the meantime I'm doing my usual "cleaning" :brow:

#50 suberdave

suberdave

    www.suberdave.com

  • Members
  • 1,001 posts
  • Covington

Posted 08 June 2010 - 09:31 PM

if you need a set of EJ22T heads/cams. let me know. i have a set. cheep... like come and get them...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users