Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

My EJ22T swap.......and a few issues


  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#51 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 08 June 2010 - 10:44 PM

Thanks for the offer Dave, but I had a spare set already.
They will probably be coming off again in several months......I have plans :D

#52 PoorManzImpreza

PoorManzImpreza

    Subaru Nut

  • Members
  • 546 posts
  • BARBADOS

Posted 09 June 2010 - 10:28 AM

Rob,
Awesome finally dumped the ea82..looking good so far only seen that kinda camshaft damage in a hit car..
Lol my conversion is slower than Russ right now lol
But I'm gonna b a couple steps behind suberdave..his will b an sti l-series wagon mine will b a jdm wrx l-series wagon (but with more rust)..

Anyway it looks good, keep us posted

Kaz

#53 Caboobaroo

Caboobaroo

    USMB Drunk

  • Members
  • 6,880 posts
  • Oregon City

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:30 PM

Rob,
Awesome finally dumped the ea82..looking good so far only seen that kinda camshaft damage in a hit car..
Lol my conversion is slower than Russ right now lol
But I'm gonna b a couple steps behind suberdave..his will b an sti l-series wagon mine will b a jdm wrx l-series wagon (but with more rust)..

Anyway it looks good, keep us posted

Kaz


Funny Kaz:lol:

My swap won't be done until my "extras" are on the car.
EJ22T + lots of machine work + Wiseco pistons + Eagle rods + STi crank + EJ20K heads w/ lots more machine work + ......

#54 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:33 PM

Back on the road again :banana:
This time it feels much better, but I still have the high idle issue.
Who can tell me where the reed switch is on the inst panel?
I cant find anything in my 86 FSM, I need something newer.

Heres a few pics of the work I did this round.

Stripped the intake and cleaned it
Posted Image

Cut off the heatshields around the headers. Had to on one side, just to get the nuts off the head :rolleyes: Cut off the mounting points for them, ground them down and sprayed with hi temp paint.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Almost ready
Posted Image
Also had a broken engine mount, got that fixed.
A lot of you know I'm pretty anal about cleaning stuff, I've gone thru several wire wheels using my cordless drill. I just bought a new one, this time from Home Depot. The sucker was stiffer than a .......... you know.
It kept grabbing on edges and getting loose, a few times raking my arm.
I ended up making a gauntlet out of a jean pantleg and duct taping it to my arm.

Posted Image

But it doesnt work if you dont wear it :rolleyes:
Posted Image

Also had a couple of issues when I went to start it. It wasnt starting so I pulled the plugs to check for fuel. Number one plug looked like this :eek:

Posted Image
I gapped them and put them in after the heads were on, so I have no idea how it happened :-\
Then I wasnt getting any fuel. Tracked that down to nothing in the tank:rolleyes:
The gauge showed 1/4 tank, so thats another one that made me scratch my head.

#55 bratman18

bratman18

    ADIDASubarus

  • Members
  • 3,457 posts
  • Jefferson, Maine

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:59 PM

Very nice!! I love how much time you take to clean, I'm the same way. So how does she go?!?!

#56 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,991 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 21 June 2010 - 06:05 PM

wiring diagram for an EA82 instrument cluster. this is how I've gotten it in the past:
http://numbchuxconve...anel Wiring.pdf

Edited by Turbone, 21 June 2010 - 07:32 PM.


#57 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 21 June 2010 - 07:33 PM

wiring diagram for an EA82 instrument cluster. this is how I've gotten it in the past:
http://numbchuxconve...anel Wiring.pdf


Thanks Chux, I had looked at that diagram in the FSM, but I couldnt read the small print.

#58 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:16 PM

Well, I'm still having a problem with the high idle. I hooked up the VSS and it didnt make any difference. I'm thinking of changing out the ECU tomorrow and see if that works.

#59 SoobieDoo

SoobieDoo

    GL's...the luxury wheeler

  • Members
  • 838 posts
  • ZigZag

Posted 23 June 2010 - 11:25 AM

I don't mean to be insulting at all, but maybe the high idle is something simple? Mine was fixed simply by loosening the throttle cable and grounding the AT/MT identification pin. Now it's at 7-800 rpm.

#60 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 12:00 PM

Throttle cable is adjusted correctly.
But looking at the pin outs for the ECU, all I see are AT inhibitor switch and the neutral safety switch.

#61 SoobieDoo

SoobieDoo

    GL's...the luxury wheeler

  • Members
  • 838 posts
  • ZigZag

Posted 23 June 2010 - 12:35 PM

From Numbchux write-up for a '92, it's going to be B48 pin 20 for both turbo and NA. Hope that helps...if memory serves, my idle was about 2K, so it was either that or the cable.

#62 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 12:44 PM

Hmmm, I'll check it out. My print out is for a 90 and it shows no connection for that pin.

I checked the #20 ECU pin and it didnt even have a wire in the plug. The ECU and harness are from a 92 MT SS Legacy.
I checked all the grounds from the ECU and its all good.
This is getting frustrating :-\

Edited by Turbone, 23 June 2010 - 02:40 PM.


#63 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 25 June 2010 - 07:24 PM

Well, I'm not getting far in my troubleshooting.
I hooked up my CEL light and it wont work.
As in no power from the ECU :confused:
Unhooked the IAC and it will idle at 2k steady, instead of rising to 2.5k and dropping when I hit the throttle.
I may have to tear apart this stupid harness to find out whats wrong :-\








Its all Caboob's fault......he jinxed me :mad:

#64 Caboobaroo

Caboobaroo

    USMB Drunk

  • Members
  • 6,880 posts
  • Oregon City

Posted 25 June 2010 - 11:00 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!


Sucker! You made fun of me for not getting on the ball and getting mine finished:lol: Karma's a b****

#65 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 25 June 2010 - 11:41 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!


Sucker! You made fun of me for not getting on the ball and getting mine finished:lol: Karma's a b****


Yeah, how many miles do you have on yours skippy? :D
At least I can drive it, albeit with a high idle.
Other than that, it runs like a champ.
Oh, my mpg went to h e l l tho :rolleyes:
Only running 8lbs, going to keep it there too.

And Russ, I'll still make fun of you, karma be damned ;)

#66 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,991 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 26 June 2010 - 02:29 AM

I believe, un-plugging the IAC should cause it to quit. if the valve is closed, and the throttle plate is closed.....engine should die. I think :rolleyes:. Is your cable tight? possibly too tight?


CEL gets a ground from the ECU, not power. maybe you know that and just typed it backwards, but thought I'd make sure.

#67 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 26 June 2010 - 11:21 AM

I believe, un-plugging the IAC should cause it to quit. if the valve is closed, and the throttle plate is closed.....engine should die. I think :rolleyes:. Is your cable tight? possibly too tight?


CEL gets a ground from the ECU, not power. maybe you know that and just typed it backwards, but thought I'd make sure.


The cable is adjusted correctly (for the 3rd time) and the car doesnt die when I pull the IAC plug.
When I have the test plugs connected, shouldnt I have power to the CEL light?

#68 Yo'J

Yo'J

    Certified Subaru Nut

  • Members
  • 833 posts
  • seattle

Posted 27 June 2010 - 01:16 AM

Power comes from somewhere else like the rest of the dash lights. The cel wire gives it a ground. Like old fashioned house wiring where the switch was neutral and your bulb is always hot.

#69 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 28 June 2010 - 08:01 PM

Ok, finally getting some where.
First off, the ECS light is different than the Engine/Ign light on the dash.
Once I hooked up the signal wire from the ECU to the correct EA harness wire(which I had to trace from the board on the dash), I got a code, hura!
Popped out a 24 code, the IAC..........go figure :rolleyes:
Capt r came by today and we did a quick test on his IAC. We unplugged it and the car idle decreased but didnt die, basically what mine did.
I tested the power to my IAC and its good, 11v+ The ohms at the IAC was 10.5 when it was supposed to be 9, so I'm swapping it out for another one that tested at 9ohms.
Hopefully this will do the trick (fingers/toes crossed)

Edited by Turbone, 28 June 2010 - 08:08 PM.


#70 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:26 AM

I replaced the top electrical unit on the IAC and it helped some, but it still throws a code. But its running better and I can keep the idle down with the occasional blip of the throttle.
But you know what happens when you fix one problem?
Yeah, something else rears its ugly head :rolleyes:
This one isnt engine related (almost wish it was) but drivetrain.
I was hoping it would last a little longer than it did, but I'm never easy on my equipment.
The front diff went out on me today on my home from a Wed night meet.
I was still about 4mi from home, a lot of it uphill. When it went crunch, I pulled over to listen to it. Clutch in, clutch out.......lots of noise :-\
It even locked up on me when I tried rolling forward and reverse.
About the 7th time of letting out the clutch it rolled but still rattled, but I decided to take a chance.
Made it all the way home, only stopping once at a stop sign.
Now I get to do a tranny swap Posted Image

#71 baccaruda

baccaruda

    YOUR FAVORITE MOD

  • Moderator
  • 6,942 posts
  • SpoVegas, WA

Posted 01 July 2010 - 01:15 AM

That SUCKS.

I wonder if the harness has an issue related to the IAC problem? *ducks*

#72 Yo'J

Yo'J

    Certified Subaru Nut

  • Members
  • 833 posts
  • seattle

Posted 01 July 2010 - 02:01 AM

Now you know how I feel after getting all that swap work... sort of done, I suppose, and I find a blown head. Its fixed now (as of today) but still has the same problems.


But now it throws codes like a ************************** on crack!:banghead:

Edited by Yo'J, 01 July 2010 - 02:04 AM.
crack


#73 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 02 July 2010 - 07:49 PM

Well, shot a short vid today after pulling it under my canopy :-\



#74 phantomcrooner

phantomcrooner

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • The mountains of Julian

Posted 06 July 2010 - 03:27 PM

Wow man, sorry about the trans, that is my brothers biggest fear, he has an rx and is planning a turbo 2.2 swap. Those tranis are hard to find.

Hey, on a side note, does your ecm have a built in map sensor? Mine does, which I thought would be for a turbo model, but my brother has a turbo 1.8 and a turbo 2.2 and neither one has a map sensor.

I have both a map and a maf, but didn't plug in the map until today after my bro suggested unplugging it to see if it helped my surge and idle issues. I took it for a test drive and it drove smooth for the first time, took off smooth and didn't surge at cruise speed (60-65).

More test driving to come.

#75 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,125 posts
  • WA

Posted 06 July 2010 - 06:45 PM

I dont think mine does, its a 92.
What year is yours, if you know?

Got the bad trans out today, now I need a couple days break :rolleyes:
The replacement is getting a scrubbing.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users