Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Howdy fellow Subaru owners.

I know this is a total newbie quesiton and I apologize for it.

I currently own a 1990 Legacy LS wagon / automatic with about 220,000 miles on it. I bought it about 3 years ago with 175,000 on it. I do a lot of driving for work and needed something reliable and was pretty broke. Its been the best car in terms of mileage and maintenance cost I've ever owned.

I need to replace it. It needs a transmission, tires, and I'm pretty worried about the motor.

I'm looking for something in the 100,000 mile range for between $3500 - $6500 price range. I prefer a manual transmission. I'm also 6'2" tall and so my current seat doesn't go back far enough.

What should I get? I love wagons, I'd like decent snow performance, and something I can put 100,000 miles on without getting reamed on repairs. I've heard about issues with clutch shudder on Outback and Forester models with manual trannies.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Anybody wanna buy my current ride :)

LK

Strange that you're concerned about the engine. Believe it or not, 220k miles isn't all that much for a 1st-gen Legacy. Some people put 1st-gen Legs with more miles than that through tougher things than you could ever dream of. My 91 Legacy is still sucking its thumb with 127k miles. I am not lying to you when I tell you the car runs better than most new cars I've driven. They're simply fantastic cars. I'm also 6'3", and I have plenty of room in my seat.

Nevertheless, if you still want a Subie with similar reliability, go with what Suzam said and try to stay with a 2.2. The Phase II 2.2's, while they did have some piston slap problems, are still much better than a 2.5 Subaru I'm afraid.

You could look into a 95-99 Legacy wagon with the 2.2, or an Impreza wagon in the same age and with the same engine. I too prefer a manual, but keep in mind that you really can't slam a Subaru gearbox around like say a Honda. The synchros aren't designed for it.