Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Timing Belt: Tools Required?

I have no tools and want to spend as little as possible. I am an experienced mechanic.

Can you tell me the sizes of the crank pully bolt?

I am assuming 10, 12, 14 17 and 19 for everything else.

Am I going to need a balancer puller to get off the pully?

Is it standard opperating proceedure to do teh water pump at teh same time as the timing belt?

Hi,

1)All chances are your crankshaft pulley bolt head size is the same as on most Legacies (and as on mine): 22 mm

2) You dont need a puller, the crank pulley will practically fall in your hands when the bolt is removed.

3) People use different methods to immobilize the pulley while they remove the pulley bolt. I think mine is cheap and very efficient. I bought a chain wise grip for around 20$ Can and used it to remove the crank pulley as well as the cam pulleys. The beauty of this tool aside is low cost is that the relatively short handle is easily made to catch on nearby immovable parts and thus permits you to work alone with both hands free.

The only caveat is you have to use something to protect the pulleys and you should use just enough clamping force to hold the pulleys steady. I used my good old judgment and everything went fine. I used part of an old drive belt to protect the crankd pulley and part of the old timing belt to protect the cam pulleys.

4) I think you're about right for the rest of the sockets sizes.

5) Most people here, and me included, think that replacing the water pump is cheap insuraqnce. You should also replace the crank and cam seals and reseal the oil pump (an O ring + sealing compound around where the pump mates with the engine block)

Hope that helps and good luck!