Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I'm thinking this is VERY bad

I'm referring to the fat chunk of block missing between the two cylinders. Corrosion doesn't bother me that much in comparison

N. Ursalia: I have no experience with JB weld - so pardon my ignorance - are you being sarcastic or serious?

- Erik Hosa - Tacoma, WA -

Sure looks toast to me.

How long did you drive it with this problem?

Looks like the combustion was passing through

this cut out. Head gasket went

then the hot gases passing through the opening melted the block and the liners?

Odd very odd.

Wheres Qman?

I would like to hear what he says.

Actually I didn't drive the car with this problem at all - only into my garage. I'm sure you old-timers remember Chewy/Matt - I bought it from him, and he said it always acted wierd since he got it from someone down in Oregon (if any of you remember, this is the car that had the 14" australian wheels on it... ) Thats a reasonable guess Skip - at least it sounds like it makes sense.

JB is pretty strong - And that looks to be about your only option short of having someone who can weld aluminium put some metal on there, and having it milled flat.... that, or use this block as your new jack-stand.....

I think personally I might actually try JB weld - what's the worst that could happen? Once it's fully cured it should withstand the heat - the pressure I don't know about. Might blow the gasket again. I would certainly use an old gasket if I tried this - would be a pitty to waste a new one on such an experiment.

GD

BTW - I'm in no way badmouthing Matt - he didn't screw me over in any way to his knowlege (there was no oil in the water, water in the oil - so he assumed the head was fine... which it is)

Brian: the 81-stocker wagon GL (my lifted is the 82)

subaru brat- I could tell that was a joke but I think he was looking for a real answer here.