Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Just purchased a 1987 GL-10 Wagon and need help.

Just purchased a faded but extremely solid and straight 1987 GL-10 Wagon. It already has a D/R 5 speed swapped in place of the automatic and has a home made 1.5 inch lift and custom front bumper. I'm new to Subarus and still pretty new to this site, and I need a little help getting this car ready to relatively regular use by me and my wife. I'm hoping some folks here can help me with the following, I do have some money to invest in what will be our offroading, camping, and extreme winter weather vehicle (I just sold my '98 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 4x4 so I could do this).

1. Temp climbs up to red (digital dash) and then drops back to mid level after being on red for a few seconds, even sitting at idle. I've already found that the electric radiator fan is not coming on. I want to wire the fan so it comes on and stays on as long as the car is running, what it is easiest and safest way to do that?

2. This ties into number 1, I also would like to change the radiator to a dual row/core. What is the easiest way to tell if I have a two or one row/core radiator? Where is the best and most affordable source for a new two row/core radiator? (I also plan on a new OEM Subaru thermostat.)

3. I'd like to replace the home made 1.5 inch lfit with a 3 inch lift to better clear the 225-70-R14 tires. I've been considering the SJR kit, but that doesn't include a method to extend the steering shaft. Any recommendations? Is there an easy way to extend the steering shaft so I can use the SJR kit?

4. I want the car to last a long time and some one along the line removed the inner fenders, any one have a pair I could score? Will the tires clear the inner fenders with the 3 inch lift and 27 inch tires?