Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA-82T swaps?

Hey guys!

I recently bought a 1987 Subaru XT Turbo to be my new rally platform and i'm having a hell of a time find parts for it. (Go figure:rolleyes:)

This is a big budget project, but I would like to be able to find a new shell relatively cheap if a tree decided to use my car as a blanket. So I went with the XT. What i'm looking for is a new (Preferably crate) engine and driveline to throw in over the winter but i'm new to the Subaru scene and was wondering if you guys could help with compatability issues.

I was directed here by someone claiming a DR. Rx has done a fairly high power swap into his XT but my searching turned up no results. So links to this would be extremely helpful in cutting down my workload.

Dr. RX did a swap into an RX :rolleyes: not an XT. Though swaps into XT's have been done.

What you *don't* want is anything that's under the hood now. The EA82T's are junk and are a dead platform.

With an adaptor plate or changing the transmission you can install any of a number of EJ series engines. The USDM or JDM EJ20 WRX engine being probably the logical choice since you have a turbo platform. It's not a small job - you need a whole engine and wireing harness plus custom exhaust, etc. And if you want the car to be able to handle the power you will want an XT6 5-lug conversion, WRX brakes, and the WRX transmission as well - the tranny you have now won't handle that kind of power nor is it setup for the EJ turbo clutch system.

Basically you have a body. Everything else will have to be changed. And XT's aren't that common - if you want a common vehicle for a big budget build I'm very surprised you didn't opt for an Impreza coupe. That is the logical choice with everything being basically bolt-on, etc.

GD

Dr. RX did a swap into an RX :rolleyes: not an XT. Though swaps into XT's have been done.

What you *don't* want is anything that's under the hood now. The EA82T's are junk and are a dead platform.