Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Guide me o great subugurus! New to me 78 DL 4X4

We own a wrx and i have been wanting to have a project subi for some time. Also daily driver hopefully soon. I found it for 300 bucks in a local trade paper. Saw it and knew the parts alone would be worth twice what he was asking. Perfect buy i think. I will have pics up soon. Havent had much time with the car since i bought it. I am a shadetree mechanic and generaly know cars. But i'm sure i'll have quesions, and if there's anywhere to ask questions, this has to be the place. Pleasent community at that. =D

The history is it has been setting under a tree for a year and is very dirty and stayed wet i assume. Some rust but nothing too bad, Havent fully looked under the car, but looks decent and minimal rust at a glance. The engine looks good and ran last summer when they parked it. It ran when primed, the gas that went to the filter was very dirty and fuel system flush is high on the priority list. It may run good shortly after. the engine looks pretty clean on top, but there is some seepage or messy oil filling on the crossmember.

I will have all day sunday to check it out.

So, the first bit of advice i seek is,

1- What to look for? any secret rust spots that kill the car? there was some bubble on the frame that worried me. I want eventual spray bedliner on the bottom 1/2, but it's not cheap. How should i stop the rust for now? sandpaper and primer?

2- What do i have here?, i know it's a top starter ea71, can i get enough hp/torque to spin 195/r14 tires (smallest bfg all terrain), and how much lift to make them fit? Is it easily accomplished?

The general plan is a lifted knobby tired forest buggy. That i can still drive to work. Thanks for any advice, i have a million questions and am very excited to have found this car!

Welcome,