Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Subaru Select Monitor - SSM - Versions?

Edit: FWIW, I was able to use a 'home-built' SSM plug to USB adapter on my laptop with Evoscan. This POST shows the info. Used a FTDI chip cable to USB adapter along w/a Subaru Metra. 

The Evoscan has both OBD1 and OBD2 compatible ROM (?) files that'll work. The parameters aren't alll there (or functional) but I was able to log RPM vs. AFR's along w/a few other basic EcU functions.

I posted in the wrong forum (WTH? Am I a Noob?) about scan tools for issues on my '98 Forester HERE.

After searching for a couple of days it appears there are multiple versions of the SSM. And it appears that '99 was a change-over year, @ least on Imprezas, and probably Foresters.

Anyone know for sure?

I need to be able to do real-time data logging and some of the 3rd-party software supports the SSM (such as ecuExplorer), but appears to depend on the version.

Thanks!

Edited by wtdash

I was a tech at a dealership until last fall. Heres what I know. There are 3 Select Monitors so far.

Current model is a Panasonic Toughbook with proprietary software on it. It connects to the car thru an interface box which is somewhat stand alone in that it has a small screen but the laptop is needed for reflashes, graphing, and a lot of other features. I believe you can buy this tool from Kent Moore, look at spending, my guess, around $6-10,000 to be up and running and dont expect any updates or help from Subaru. Its required for the immobilizer, setting up the remote start system, and many other tasks. Its a pretty wonderful device but spendy.

Previous model was a unit that is similar to a snap on "brick". This is the SM2. IT has cartridges, 8 buttons and is very handy. They are tough but many are probably going to hit the market here in the next year or two because their screens died, cartridges got lost, etc. Electronics nerds will have a field day fixing these and enjoying them.