Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Shop Engine/Parts Cleaner Recommendation Needed

gijoe985

I am just starting out teaching high school auto shop at a new school. We've got tons of industry style equipment. We hope to start doing some engine building soon, but I don't have a really good unit for cleaning blocks/parts. What do you all think I should get? I know there are the rotating stand up units that spray the blocks with a hot foamy solution. What about those larger ultrasonic cleaning tanks?

I'd love to hear some suggestions. And I'm sure I'll need more in the future.

I'm not sure what the model is, but the transmission shop up the street from my shop has the single most awesome parts washer I think I've ever seen. Its a vertical rotisserie system and it works like a charm.

That's probably like the one I am thinking of...

My sugestion is based on working in an industrial setting - rebuilding machines of all types. I would not just get one setup. There are times when you want chemical and times when you want a hot detergent type wash.....

For an actual parts washer, I would get one of these:

http://www.roto-jetoa.com/

We had one where I worked and for a lot of cleaning jobs it worked great.

Now that said, it's not going to clean places that it can't "see". Line of sight is important with parts washers and so things that have large cavities in them or blind passages, etc are difficult to clean. For that you need a chemical dip. An alkali hot-tank for non-aluminium parts and another seperate tank for aluminium are what I would reccomend. You can't get aluminium clean enough with the roto-jet to really sparkle and in any case the detergent discolors it. If I could have nothing else, I would have just the chemical hot tanks. They are the most versatile by far and the cheapest to get into (it's a metal dumpster full of chems). Cleaning them out and dealing with the waste isn't fun but they do things that no parts washer could ever do.