Ultimate Subaru Message Board

99 Outback - replacing fuel filler neck

Hi folks.

Couple weeks ago my CEL became lit (0440 code), so after reading these boards, thought I'd take a look at the fuel filler neck by the right rear wheel.

Well, living in Wisconsin, you can imagine what I found - lots of gunk, crud and corrosion. I'm hypothesizing that there is a leak in there somewhere.

My question is - can I make this repair myself? I've done simple repairs in the past, but I'm not a mechanic.

Thanks!

It's replaceable; there is a plastic cover over it that comes off. But first it'd be wise I think to verify what the problem is. It's possible the fuel cap is faulty as well, or there could be a solenoid that is having problems, or a plugged or leaky emmissions hose in there, etc. An evap smoke machine will show the source of the leak, if there is a leak. P0440 can have a lot of causes: http://www.google.com/search?q=p0440+%2Bsite%3Aendwrench.com

It's replaceable; there is a plastic cover over it that comes off. But first it'd be wise I think to verify what the problem is. It's possible the fuel cap is faulty as well, or there could be a solenoid that is having problems, or a plugged or leaky emmissions hose in there, etc. An evap smoke machine will show the source of the leak, if there is a leak. P0440 can have a lot of causes: http://www.google.com/search?q=p0440+%2Bsite%3Aendwrench.com

What's the best way to locate the cause of the 0440 code? Is there a common checklist people follow?

Click that link above, that's four articles from Subaru that deal with this code. A good one with a description of what the ECU is seeing that triggers this code and possible causes are: http://www.endwrench.com/pdf/fuel/FtEvapEmissionTestW00.pdf

An evap smoke machine is quick to hook up and any leaks will show up as little puff of smoke coming out.