Ultimate Subaru Message Board

97 Impreza OBS with a 98 Legacy OBW Suspension (all of it not just the struts)

impoutback 97

Ive been wanting to lift the 97 OBS for a few months now. The opportunity presented itself and I jumped in head first. I didnt take pics until the last day of installation but it should be enough to see what needs to be done to do it yourself.:grin: If i could figure aut how to download my pics:banghead:

Edited by impoutback 97

i'd like to see those, i used to drive a 97 OBS as well. is it not letting you post because of too few post count or are they too big? they have to be resized i think or posted on another hosting site and linked to here.

are your original struts usable and for sale? a friend of mine drives my old 97 OBS and the struts are in poor shape and new is a bad option right now.

• 4 months later...

Hi there, newbie here with a 97OBS. I've been interested in doing the suspension switch myself. Been hearing mixed comments between getting forrester suspension or legacy suspension.

Was this just a direct switch of struts, springs, and mounts? Anything I should know before jumping in?

Thanks!

• 8 months later...
Hi there, newbie here with a 97OBS. I've been interested in doing the suspension switch myself. Been hearing mixed comments between getting forrester suspension or legacy suspension.

Was this just a direct switch of struts, springs, and mounts? Anything I should know before jumping in?

Thanks!

The forrester rear struts have an inch less wheel clearance than the 98+ outbacks. I took the forrester springs and swaped them into the 98 outback rear struts w/ my impreza tophats and inch thick tophat spacers allong with the 98 outback body lift, swaybars. I think I got 5"+ of lift at the wheel well in back.:clap: Room for the 27" tires im runnin.