Ultimate Subaru Message Board

'99 Subaru Legacy Outback, Overheating problem caused by repair shop.

This is my first time posting here.

I have a '99 Subaru Legacy Outback wagon with roughly 160k-170k miles on it.

I say roughly because the speedometer started dropping out intermittently about a year ago and we haven't wanted to put the $600 into getting the speed sensor replaced to find out whether or not that's the issue.

Anyway, on to my main concern. The car has had a small oil leak from the valve cover gaskets for a while now. We knew about this, but I just checked the oil occasionally to make sure it hadn't gotten too low and went on about my business.

A couple months ago, I checked the oil and the dipstick came out dry, this scared me, but I added a quart of oil and it was fine again. checked it again a month or so later, and same thing. The weird thing about this is that there was no oil on the pavement in our parking spot and it seems to take very little oil to get it back to the right level.

I finally got a chance to take it in to get this checked out and get an oil change a couple weeks ago before we left to go on our yearly Christmas trip up to Oregon.

Upon looking at the car, the shop we've been taking it to for the last few years said that there was a large amount of oil leaking from the Valve cover gasket as well as the timing belt assembly and camshaft seal. They said they needed to lift the engine out of the car to fix this which requires a large amount of labor. We also had a torn boot on our left front axle which was a part of the original quote (but inexplicably wasn't in the final quote and didn't end up getting done). The total estimate for parts and labor was around $1800. I asked them if this was something I could put off until after our trip and they said no. I told them I needed to think about it and that I'd get back to them as soon as possible.