Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I just got a '98 Forester. It seems to have the original head gaskets @ 122K miles. I'm contemplating a preventative head gasket replacement. What gaskets do people recommend? (I'm a certified mechanic, but this is my first Subaru. It came with all 3 factory service manuals) Dennis

Definitely go with OEM Subaru. Will post link to my experience with another brand shortly. Has lots of info supporting the use of OEM.

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=119154&highlight=hate

Nipper gives a lot of information about the benefits of sticking with OEM

Especially important on 2.5d engine in your car (like mine)

Edited by Ionlyhave3suubs
add link to another thread

2.5 DOHC - OEM. no doubt about it for me.

If you read around here you'll see folks have tried others, and name brands (and generics) and are even better doing it the second time with OEM parts.

Poke around. Most of us do idlers, oil pump Oring (and check the screws) crank seal, cam seals, often WP, etc. It's easiest to yank the engine so reseal the baffle plate while you're at it and throw some new NGK cheap plugs in to (the ones w/Green writing). Of course a TB and you should be set for quite a while.

Look here for burping procedures also.

Not a bad job really.

On a few occasions I have used Cometic HG's with no complaints or problems. Not sure how they price up against OEM, but they worked for me so I will stick with them.

http://www.cometic.com/

"And..... cue the negative responses....:popcorn:"

I have had pretty good luck with those on EJ20 WRX engines here when customers request them. Unless requested though, I use Genuine Subaru only.

Subaru OEM is great. Given the significant usage of the cometics on the RS and impreza forums I'd use them without thinking about it too if there was some need or advantage. They'll even custom make different thicknesses, etc.