Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Grandma's Subaru

Hello all,

I don't have it just yet, but it looks like I'm going to be the next owner of Grandma's Subaru. It's a GL 4wd Wagon, an '81 I think. My grandma had it as long as we all can remember, so that would go back to the early 80's. Been passed around the family a bit in recent years though. My uncle may be mistaken, but he thinks it only has about 80k miles on it. Been sitting at my other uncle's place for a year and a half, so I'm going to take my turn. Could be a gem, or could be trash, but I'm counting on it to drive 800 miles from Montana. We'll see.

I'm a hobby mechanic that's become known for rescuing old Isuzu's. I've wrenched on mine and my friend's quite a lot. Three engine swaps in Troopers under my belt so far. Between my friends and I, we have five of the 1st Gen Troopers cruising around here.

I don't figure I'll be able to keep from fiddling with this Subaru. Already looking into upgrading to an EJ22. I have a friend with a '93 Impreza laying around that I might be able to talk him out of. First things first, gotta get the car.

I've never had a Subaru before, never really expected to either. I've had several '89-91 Isuzu Troopers, an '81 Isuzu I-Mark LS Diesel, and my latest is a '99 BMW 328i. I only currently have a '90 Trooper LS (engine upgraded to a '94 Camaro 3.4L V6) and the BMW. I'm not actually sure what I'll do with the GL, I just know that I want it.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You may grow fond of the car. It is essentially bulletproof with the right subaru specific maintenance.

these cars go 300-400,000 miles in good maintenance.

If you know this car for a long time, and it has been a reliable car, keep it going! If you dont have rust or road salts to contend with, consider it an infinite car.