Ultimate Subaru Message Board

cutting filter box

thats what im sayin subaru styles.

theres a reason they pull fresh COOL air in from outside.

and if you cut it from the bottom , the inspection dorks can't see it!

hey I am licensed as one of those "inspector dorks" I dont use it for a living but you have to know you S*** to get that license. took me a couple of years. show a little respect. I know other states may have a bit more shade tree inspectors but not here.

as for the legality. on a FI car with no heat riser you can chop away leagaly. on a heat riser system like I assume Brian had. no you cannot.

Originally posted by rallyruss

hey I am licensed as one of those "inspector dorks" I dont use it for a living but you have to know you S*** to get that license. took me a couple of years. show a little respect. I know other states may have a bit more shade tree inspectors but not here.

Good thing the guy posting isn't in CA:rolleyes:

Show a little respect? I know inspection dorks in 4 states.. I stand by my assesment. Don't get all bent out of shape if it doesn't apply to you.. Offense toward you or any of California's highly trained automobile inspection professioanls wasn't intended.. The assesment was based on real experience with real inspection dorks.

I flowed the intake with and without bottom, and with and without an air filter on a superflow airflow bench, turns out that the difference between a stock setup and the removal of the bottom of the box nets about 1 cfm, which in optimal conditions nets about .33 hp, all this mod really does is add noise, sure its cool but it won't get you any faster. sorry didn't want to poop on your popsicle, a better intake from the top of the throttle body out, would definately add flow, that big kink in the intake at the TB is horrific.