Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey I'm new to subaru's and need some help

Hi everyone I'm looking to buy an 87 gl turbo a local guy has for $350 with 137000 miles the only thing is he says that the front diff went out while driving home and was able to limp it home but now it won't move but the motor still runs really well. He said the local wrecking yard has a replacement for $50. I am wondering the front diff is inside the transmission right? So if the front diff went can you replace the front diff and the transmission still be in good running order?

Basically would the car be worth my while?

Thanks

Dan

$350 isnt bad for such low mileage.

The engine will be an EA82T. Check the search function for EA82T. You could pick it up, do a complete overhaul (if you have to pull the engine anyway) Do headgaskets and try to not run it very hard, keep up on the maintenance. Cannot stress that last part.

Welcome to the board, Im sure others will chime in with better advice. I love my how simple my engine bay is on my 1986 GL Sedan (non-turbo) that has a Carburetor, the space is so open, but I know of a 1986 GL-10 Sedan is the EA82T and that engine bay is cramped compared to mine.

Front diff failure is a nice way to put as "transmission failure" to make it sound less severe.

It could simply be a font axle has failed, or if in fact the axles are fine, then it has either exploded gears, broken shift fork, etc. But anytime someone lists Subaru with "front diff" failure, its more likely they are easing the terminology for transmission failure internal....

That engine, is not very good to begin with as well, so plan on spending money down the road on it as well.