Ultimate Subaru Message Board

The fantastical rear wheel well rot thread

I have been searching in the forums, and I am not finding an answer to a question that myself, and i am sure many others are wondering:

our cars rot in the rear wheel wells/quarters.

I despise bondo. SO!

I have searched the internet far and wide, but come up empty.

Where do we find good sheet metal replacements for this very common issue?

I am into VWs as well, and I can source just about anything sheet metal wise to repair the rot on those. Soobys...not so much.

Anyone got any ideas?

for reference: i have a 97 impreza obs

Edited by gratefuldude
more info

I am also a vw lover. I am new to soobs, and there isn't even a tenth of the aftermarket interest in soobs as vw's, especially the older ones.

My rotting rear wheel wells are going to get a generous helping of por 15 and probably left alone. Until I get some big tires and trim a bit off anyway.

There are a lot of junk yard rats here on the forum, but I don't know how many 97's are already junked.

Good luck!

I might go into the business of cutting wheel wells and arches and such out of cars at the junk yards here in texas. rarely ever do I see rotted soobs down here. The last rusty subaru I saw down here still had studded tires on it :lol: so I KNOW it wasn't from around these parts. I know were there is an impreza wagon right now that has 2 good rear quarters. only problem is they don't allow powertools out there.... :-\

I have a sand blasting rig and could ship the parts already stripped and in primer like a pro shop!

This is sort of a catch22 scenario.

1.The cost of having someone cut a car up,

2. then the cost of shipping the part,

3.then the cost of a bodyshop to weld it in,

4. then the cost of repaint of the car to seal it up good, is going to be more

than

5. buying an entire rust free west coast/southwest desert car.

you can do the math but pretty sure its cheaper to buy one already rust free.