Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Garner's Brat (need some help/advice)

Vinny1979

I am new to subaru's and this forum but I have always liked them and wanted one. I am a fabricator/designer and I spend my hobby time building custom bikes. I have been wrenching for probably 8 years but only been serious abotu it for about 3. I have never worked on a subaru and honestly know more about outdated carbs than anything to do with EFI

I was close friends with Garner, He was a professor of mine when I was in college and we worked on a few of his furniture designs after I graduated. For those of you who do not know, Garner passed a few months ago. His wife asked me to help clean the shop and help Garner's business partner load some of Garner's tools so that he could move them to his shop. During this process She told me that she was looking for a new home for the brat. Since I had drooled over this car for a few years and I was eager to have just about anything that Garner had owned I jumped at the opportunity.

I have checked the car pretty thoroughly and done some maintence work but it still wont start. After reading up on the Mega Squirt I am thinking that I need to tune the computer (or the fuel injectors are shot). I bought a cable and hope to start tuning this weekend. I was hoping someone on here would know what his settings were or atleast a good starting point for me.

Specs as I know them:

79 Brat, 86 EA82 GL motor with a turbo. Fuel pump is pushing up to 60 lbs of pressure at static, I replaced plugs, fixed some vacuum leaks, other small maintenance things.

If anyone could help I would greatly appreciate it. I would love to get this car running. It is one of the coolest cars I have ever seen and I love that it was Garner's. Thanks

I remember his build! Sorry to hear of his passing - he was a real knowledgeable guy. Hope he hasn't been sick all these years that he's been off the board?