Ultimate Subaru Message Board

im having to rebuild my ej22 after it got oil starvation. was wondering what all can be done to gain more power out of this engine. like larger valves, bigger cam, bored out, porting, injectors? im new to the subaru engine but have done lots of other work on other cars. im open to doing most any work to this engine except for a turbo i want to keep it N/A

is an EJ25 short block an option? bolt your EJ22 heads up to it. nice thing about that combo is you get the larger displacement of the EJ25 but retain lots of positive things about the EJ22 - cheaper cams (only 2 instead of 4), cheaper timing components, etc.

porting.....a few hp, valves....a few hp

EJ25 short block - 30 hp increase out of the box.

porting, valves, cams would be a ton of work and costs.....and not get the 30hp increase that would come with the larger block.

deltacams is a member here and does cam grinds for the EJ22, check with them and they might have some recommendations about valve sizing. this applies to EJ22 and EJ25, either way you go.

Best bang for your buck is a set of reground cams from Delta Camshaft.

Other than that, there really isn't much for the 2.2 other than intake stuff and headers for the dual port heads.

Not sure about porting/valve work, not many around here mess with all that. Some of the more performance oriented subaru boards would have some tips/info about that though.

Wait a second...

You guys mean to tell me that a standard EJ25 block is a direct bolt in? Like all the accessories and heads bolt right up? Motor mounts all the same?

I hope there's more to it. Otherwise I'll be pissed about passing on a $20 EJ25 short block...

Better to be pissed off than pissed on. Sorry. :/

So you are saying that the deisign (daimeters, spacing, etc.) of all of the cam drive related components (idlers, water pump, sprockets, etc.) are identical on the 2.2 and the 2.5 so all you have to do is use a 2.2 timing belt?