Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Front Axle/Cv-Joint advice...please...

Working on a 1993 Sub Loyale EA82, Auto-Trans. FWD-

Need to remove & replace Right front[passenger side] CV-Joint/Axle assembly.

How tough of a job is it? I have never done a Subaru Axle before.

I was reading on the ShopKey5/Mitchell website that there is a "roll-pin" that needs to be removed. They did not offer a diagram, what are they talking about? Does any body know?

Can someone estimate on how long the job should take?

Edited by Loyale93v

The roll pin is a pin that holds the inner axle joint onto the stub projecting from the transmission. It stops the joint from sliding off, it doesn't take any torque.

Search for Ed Rach's excellent write-up here, and in the USMB repair manual. With this in hand, and a few tools, it shouldn't take more than half a day or so, the first time.

The roll pin is a pin that holds the inner axle joint onto the stub projecting from the transmission. It stops the joint from sliding off, it doesn't take any torque.

Search for Ed Rach's excellent write-up here, and in the USMB repair manual. With this in hand, and a few tools, it shouldn't take more than half a day or so, the first time.

a 1/2 day!? oh boy! :) I will look for Ed Rach's write up, where is the write up?...in the "HOW TO" section? Thank you very much