Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1990 Loyal... Need Help!!!

Hey guys, new to the forum...

I was needing some info on a 1990 4wd Loyale turbo EA82 4EAT wagon. I got it for near nothing because the owner thought the trans was out. I was hoping it was just the linkage because it will go into all forward gears and neutral fine, but it grins in reverse and doesn't engage in park. Well i got the thing home and checked the linkage and it appears to be working by looking at it. Do I need to tare into the transmission to see for sure if its gone. Or is it shot?? And if so how much would a used transmission cost or a rebuild kit run... also it makes a load noise when I take my foot off the gas when going over about 15 mph but I'm about sure that's just the speed cable.

Any information would help, I'm new to subarus and this car is close to perfect condition inside and out and really wroth fixing.

Someone will come along soon with info about the tranny specifics, but I can speak from experience that a 'new' one will run $100-$150 or so from a junkyard. They are pretty hardy (aka usually not the reason the car is in the yard) and will last the life of the car or more if kept full of fluid. Not that they'll go far without! A five speed would be an excellent swap if you go that way, and will mate to the engine if you swap the flexplate for a flywheel (also available at the yard) with a clutch and pressure plate. The axles will also mate to either transmission as long as they are both either turbo or non-turbo (turbo has 25 axle splines, non-turbo 23).

actually the turbo 3at uses 23 spline the turbo 5mt uses 25 spline.. speaking from experience and the 5 speed d/r would be the way to go just make sure you have correct ratios.

sounds like the parking paw. some one probably put it in park while it was still moving and if i recall theres band adjusters on the drivers side right under the shift linkage. and also check the vaccum line to the transmission down shift diaphragm.