Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1996 impreza EJ22 LOUD ticking

Hello, this is my first time here,

I have a 1996 impreza with the EJ22, automatic, and 197000 miles.

I went out for a cold start this morning and noticed the noise. It gets louder at high RPM and does not stop. I though valves so i pulled it apart and realized that there is no adjustment but there is lifters. I pulled the assembly an the intake lifters are squishy and can be pushed in very easily. The exhaust lifers are solid, can not be pushed at all. I checked oil and it was low so i added seafoam after reading on here a bit, the oil is full but still noisy motor. I have not run it long with the seafoam yet, and it is due for oil change so i thought id run it for a bit with the seafoam then change the oil. I am just wondering if i am on the right track and if the problem persists after oil change, where to go next.

Thanks for any help.

I don't know for sure. There was some report of a possible blocked oil gallery leading to the valvetrain on one of the sides of the engine, so there wasn't much oil getting there, and that could let the lifters lose prime. Usually I fish a length of bare 14 ga solid copper wire through the oil passages when I do the timing belt/valve cover gaskets just in case.

Update: