Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Burnt Clutch Smell & Squeal!?!?

2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i

I'm new to Subaru, first one. I've been a Honda Girl m whole life! Please HELP!

I was driving my son to school this a.m. & on the way back I'm pulling into the drive way & the clutch sticks to the floor, not returning until I turned the car off. My car filled with the typical burnt clutch smell. I cranked her back up & when I engaged the clutch, she made a squealing sound!?!?! I can still drive her, but with the clutch engaged it squeals!

I checked all fluids, levels are all where they should be. Is the clutch going out, already out? WTF is going on? :banghead:

How many miles and did you own it from the beginning or was it bought used?

Does the car/clutch shake when changing gear? Or does it feel 'sticky' when shifting gear?

Could clutch is worn, pressure plate with spring is not returning (worn pressure groups).

Used & It's around 90k miles, I know the owner personally & he "Says" he has kept her up mechanically. There is no shaking, the clutch just stuck to the floor & returned once I turned the car off. I turned her on again & engaged the clutch, it squealed but went into gear fine. Still with the burnt smell.

Might have someone get in the car and press on the pedal while you look under the hood at the clutch fork linkage. That'll tell ya if the hydraulic system is your problem or not.

Otherwise I'd say your clutch is just going out. Sometimes a piece will break off and get stuck, causing it to still work but either stick or smoke.

Could be 2 unrelated things happening.

In winter, the squeal at startup could be the power steering belt. That is an easy tightening adjustment in your driveway. Are you noticing it harder to steer at all?