Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Meet Ben, the G/F's 93 Loyale!

l75eya

And now I would like to introduce Benjamin J. Hooptie. Or, Ben!

Benfresh.jpg

This is Ben as we got him. Matter of fact this is Ben still sitting on the car dealership's lot in central NJ *before* we got him.

This is the first Subaru GL series I ever saw. Didn't even know what they were until I saw Ben. I remember thinking when I saw the craigslist picture "Damn..that's an ugly car..." but needless to say it grew on me so much I went out and got my own (Margaret).

Ben is a FWD 3AT. He had 52,000 miles when we got him, and he spent most of his life at the hands of an Asian gentleman in the Bronx.

This is Ben today:

IMAG1072.jpg?t=1331617059

Ben was in pristine condition when we got him. I picked him out for the girlfriend as her first car for a couple of reasons.

*He had a long hood and a long trunk and was flat and angular. Her being a new driver, I wanted her to have good visibility out of the car and I wanted her to be able to actually see where the corners of the car were. Sitting in the driver's seat, you can see the end of each fender, and the end of the back of the car as well. I thought this would make it much easier for her to get used to judging where she was on the road with the car and how close she was to objects, etc.

*He is a Subaru. Subaru = reliability. At least to me at the time that meant *any* subaru. I only found out later on that the EA82 was not a particularly super reliable engine.

*Gas milage. This was another misconception by me. I counted on it getting 30 + MPG on the highway, which is what he was going to be operated on mainly. When driving the car home, and hopping on the highway I got up to speed and immediately thought why the f* is it not shifting?

Didn't know anything about it only being a 3 speed at the time, and thus a bit of a chugger on the highway. He routinely gets about 25 mpg highway, so not *too* bad.