Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Frankenmotor and ECU hacking

presslab

I've finished the frankenmotor in my Vanagon, EJ25D shortblock with EJ22E heads and Delta 220 cams. I calculated comp ratio at 10.4:1. Things went pretty good, and I used everything else from my EJ22E, which is from a '92 Legacy.

It's been said that the cams cause idle problems, and the frankenmotor too. Each one can be handled by the ECU okay, but both together cause problems. Well not surprisingly my idle is pretty terrible, and the computer is not going closed loop AFR; I should mention it ran perfectly before. The ECU tries to correct AFR by +20%, but then gives up.

My plan is to remap the ECU. I ordered some custom PCBs to install a daughtercard into the ECU (design thanks to Alcyone.org.uk!) and I've figured out where the maps live in the ROM. This stuff is pretty much the same as the remapping I've done on my GC8 WRX motor, so I have some experience here.

Anyone with experience mapping these engines with aftermarket engine management? I know I need to richen the idle, but what else, and why? Do the cams allow unmetered air in from the exhaust during idle, is this why it's lean?

Blipping the throttle I can hear some pinging. I have 87 in the tank now, and I know I need to run 91. But I'd like to back off the timing a bit to be safe. So for a higher compression ratio, theoretically do I need to back off timing across the board or just at certain places (i.e. low RPM)?

Below is a pic of the motor, and the maps I downloaded from my "F9" ECU.

2012-07-04%252016.08.35.jpg

F9%2520ECU%2520maps.jpg

Huh. I hadn't realized you could use RR on a '92 ECU.

I have no idea about the tuning part. I ended up getting a pretty good idle on mine by adjusting the IACV. The upper adjustment didn't do much, but the adjustment on the bottom helped a lot. If you're running lean due to unmetered air, then I'd bet on the IACV over air sneaking through the exhaust valves.

Jacob

Thanks for your reply!