Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Since it was nice out yesterday, I got my first chance to give the Outback a decent wash. To my horror, I noticed that the welded seam inside the hood on the driver's side has a bunch of rust bubbles under the paint- about a 12" strip of them. In a couple spots, the paint is already beginning to come off. I've been driving in Cleveland for 25 years and I've never had a car that started rusting this quickly.

WTF?!?

My '93 didn't show any rust until it was 8 years old. This looks like bad paint prep to me- don't know if it's covered under warranty.

All this stuff is really starting to sour my opinion of SOA; first it was all the interior bulbs crapping out, then the head gaskets, now a 3-year-old car that's rusting. I love my AWD, but this negative stuff is adding up fast.

Ohhh don't worry... I have an 03 and found rust around the back window of my car after the first winter... ohhh that only has like a 5000 mile warrenty... I told them I had a bumper to bumper 36k warrenty.. but they said that the paint was only covered in the first few...

I said #^@% it, I'll go get a new paint job in a few years and thats what I'll do.. No use in fighting a battle I know I won't win.

Since it was nice out yesterday, I got my first chance to give the Outback a decent wash. To my horror, I noticed that the welded seam inside the hood on the driver's side has a bunch of rust bubbles under the paint- about a 12" strip of them. In a couple spots, the paint is already beginning to come off. I've been driving in Cleveland for 25 years and I've never had a car that started rusting this quickly.

WTF?!?

My '93 didn't show any rust until it was 8 years old. This looks like bad paint prep to me- don't know if it's covered under warranty.