Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Changing timing belts

Hi Folks, I have been a lurker for many years, and have enjoyed the many helpful tips I have gleaned over the years. Now I finally have a question.

I am in the process of changing my timing belts on my 91 Loyal along with the pulleys and a new water pump (aisian).

My question....the pulley on the oil pump has lost the outside retainer ring. Do I need to replace the pulley? It looks like the ring(retainer)? might keep the back timing belt from slipping forward into the outer belt. Just wondering.

Thanks for a great forum.

Im no expert but while its apart I would replace it.seeing as its not correct.

however on my 86 gl I run without timing belt covers,so I can easly watch them.

The belt on my oil pump pully rides about 2-3mm back from the front lip/ring.

Also another thing to consider is the cam pullys dont have any lips on them either.

Just my opinion

I'm changing my belts as well (86 gl wagon). I'd like to hitch-hike on this thread rather than starting a new timing belt thread; I hope you don't mind. Are the two belts identical, so I could just buy 2 of the same belt (I'm finding a lot of belts online; don't know if they are the same)? When trying to select the correct belts I see these engine options for the 1.8L: a vin 4 2BBL OHV, a vin 4 TBI SOHC, a vin 5 2BBL OHV, or a vin 5 TBI SOHC. Which vin # is it referring to and how do I find out if mine is 2BBL or TBI and OHV or SOHC?

Is it standard to replace the idler sprocket and tensioners or only if they are damaged?

Is it standard to replace the timing cover gaskets/seals and cam gaskets/seals or only if leaks are found?

Any specialty tools required besides a pipe/breakerbar?

Thank you