Ultimate Subaru Message Board

88GLW 2wd rear drum shoe replacement procedure?

Had some rear wheel noise, sounded like something broke apart in the

rear drum (as i've experienced before). yep brake pad has a chip off it.

This is my first time doing drum brakes. Could someone give me he run through?

I've already got the drum off.. found 2 springs (silly me unhooked them before i memorized how they go back in) and 2 broken clips.. I'm hoping autozone has these clips in the help! section. ?

Edited by Danny88GL

Just google your title and you can find videos and how-to instructions with photos for brake drum replacement.

Autozone also has many step-by-step help files which are model specific at their website.

here's a generic video which may be helpful too.

http://www.ericthecarguy.com/videos/7-videos/5-brake-videos?videoid=MCpCkun2qxA#youtubegallery

And of course there is the USRM

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=129319

Edited by Dee2

I forgot to mention i already did a search here and youtube.. and google.

Didn't really find anything. youtube the drums were much more complex,

these are rather simple.. and the instructions here were geared more towards

a mechanic.

I'm looking for some simple instructions on this particular model.

I seem to recall the springs going over the cyclinders? but most of the ones i seem online the springs go straight across. these dont' seem to have the retaining pins? I searched google images for a picture of the 88glw2wd but couldn't find any. If i had that, i'm confident i could put it back together fine.

I figured if i post here, someone who knows it like the bakc of their hand could just type out a quick run down and that'd be all i needed, not an elaborate thing.

I know what you mean though, usually, that is a good response that is applicable to most situations. I guess if I just get the parts and study what