Ultimate Subaru Message Board

looking at an 88 GL

hey guys im new to subarus and am currently looking at an 88 gl wagon with 4x4. its a little over 200k in miles but runs good and everything works between the trans and 4 wheel drive. it has the motor with the single point FI. I am wondering if these motors run a timing belt. if so, i would change it as the owner doesnt know. is it hard to change the timing belts in these? i have done standard inline 4 cylinders before but never a subaru. any help or things to look for with problems that are common with these cars would be appreciated.

thanks in advance.

An 88 wagon should have an EA82 1.8 liter OHC engine. Yes they do have timing belts (2 of them actually), and in my opinion they are pretty reliable as long as you get the one WITHOUT a turbo like the SPFI you are looking at. In my opinion timing belt replacement on these is about as easy as it gets. Common issues have been gone over on here many times. Everything you want or need to know can be found with just a little searching. Good Luck!

Although timing belts may last 60,000 miles, the water pumps can go out much sooner. Especially if they are installed without putting gasket sealer in the top hole that otherwise allows dirt to access the internal water pump bearings. I had one go out at 23,000 miles so I change them every 20,000 miles. Subaru dealers will want to change them every 15,000 miles and not put the gasket sealer in the top hole, so that they go out faster. Since you have to partially remove the driver side timing belt, all front belt covers, the center inertia pulley, the radiator, the fan blades, the alternator, any accessory fans, and drain the coolant, in order to change the water pump, most people also change the timing belts at the same time.